What Brought Me Here

So, we have been asked to write blog posts for one of our assignments and the very first blog task is ‘What brought you here?’. I have been thinking really hard and thought that it was kind of a hard question to answer, but then the answer came to me when I was looking at going to Maroochydore Music and Visual Arts festival (MMVAF) again for this years lineup.

I went to MMVAF last year purely to see me favourite artists, Flight Facilities. Their music just amazes me and it is one of those albums that you need to listen to with headphones in your ears. It is like magic.

 ff-dte-thumb

(Down To Earth, Album cover, Flight Facilities)

Anyways, its not audio that I’m doing, its design. When I was at MMVAF there were a lot of art works on display and the one that really stood out was an art display from Amanda Parer. These huge bunnies that lit up the night sky were absolutely beautiful and eye catching. I was thinking to myself, how can something so simple be so exquisite? I was in total awe by them.

11866339_10203814808044149_9009547077202067482_n(Photo taken by me, Maroochydore, 2015)

I started to see everything and anything from that point with admiration for its simplicity to be so beautiful and visualising pleasing. Even just looking at the cover for Flight Facilities’s album, I love that it is so simple yet tells you everything you need to know, and the MMVAF website just astonishes me. The fact that people can actually make all of these designs and put it onto a website or page for everyone to see, now that is the kind of job I want to be doing for the rest of my working life.

References

Facilities, F. (2016). Flight Facilities | Down To EarthFlight Facilities. Retrieved 8 July 2016, from http://www.flightfacilities.com

Maroochy Music and Visual Arts Festival. (2016). Mmvaf. Retrieved 8 July 2016, from http://mmvaf.com

2 thoughts on “What Brought Me Here

  1. Greetings!
    This post adheres to the brief perfectly. I feel like I can start to understand the inspiration that you have and why you are interested in design. Well done!

    ~Icetail38~

    Like

  2. I personally don’t like reading that this is an assignment, I would suggest writing as if your audience were the sorts of people you want to be looking at your portfolio or CV, you’re a dope creative professional, not just a student.
    I really enjoyed the way you linked music and design in this post, it gave good insight into your journey.
    I’d like to hear more about the way you want to use design to express your ideas and look forward to reading more from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

