“Your Income & Your Art”- a reflection

This whole weeks lecture really drew me in just from the title. I found it interesting to learn all the different ways that workers in the creative industry actually make their money. I always knew of the typical working for a company or freelancing, but i had never even thought about others like having your own studio or crowdfunding. It was also really interesting hearing that different parts of the creative industry, like audio for instance, have the same ways they can make money as designers but also have a few extra paths that designers wouldn’t usually take.

When I think about my career after graduating I always saw myself working for a company as an employee, sitting at a big desk in a meeting portraying my ideas.

what-is-it-like-working-at-an-agency-in-the-creative-industry.jpg

I had also never thought about the fact that creative industries all intersect with each other. So as a designer I could be working in any other field creating design aspects of their projects. Ever since that was mentioned I have thought non-stop about all of the possibilities that I really have. I was always so scared coming into the creative industry because people would always say things like “thats a hard industry to get into” or “there aren’t really many jobs out there for that” when really there are endless possibilities. Something that I have mostly thought about is where I want to be working, and since music, along with design, is another passion of mine, I would absolutely love to be working in the music industry. Whether it be making album covers, working at a music magazine, at a radio station, but the one thing that I would absolutely love is making posters for festivals. Music festivals are incredible and whenever I look at any festival poster I think “that’s what I want to be doing”. They’re just so aesthetically pleasing to me.

Although freelancing is something I have been doing a bit of while I started my design course, I feel like it isn’t really for me. Freelancing or having my own studio also has its pros, but I feel like I need more experience to pursue this career path, and there also wouldn’t be a steady income if I chose one of these ways to work.

Although they both have their pros and cons, I guess it just comes down to what is more important to each person. A steady income? Or being a big hit?

As a steady income is something that I consider a priority, working for a company as an employee is still something that I would rather do than being a freelancer.

Bibliography
Beyond the Valley [Image] (2016). Retrieved December 5th, 2016, from http://www.abc.net.au/triplej/musicnews/s4515188.htm
Festival of the sun [Image] (2016). Retrieved December 5th, 2016, from http://musicfeeds.com.au/news/festival-of-the-sun-adds-new-acts-2016-lineup/
Lost Paradise Festival [Image] (2016). Retrieved December 5th, 2016, from https://twitter.com/lostparadiseau/status/763603004452896769
Mountain Sounds Festival [Image] (2016). Retrieved December 5th, 2016, from https://www.generalpants.com.au/gp-blog/mountain-sounds-festival-2017
Wonderland Festival [Image] (2016). Retrieved December 5th, 2016, from http://musicfeeds.com.au/news/wonderland-festival-2016-lineup-announced/
Working at an agency [Image] (n.d.). Retrieved December 5th, 2016, from https://www.roberthalf.com/creativegroup/need-work/career-resources/agency-life/what-is-it-like-working-at-an-agency-in-the-creative-industry

 

Leave a Reply

