“Social Media & Your Career”-a reflection

This weeks lecture was all about using social media to promote yourself.

SM-Graphic.png

I found it really interesting to hear about using a social media platform in a way that I wouldn’t usually use, by setting goals to achieve an outcome. Discussed in the tutorial was a way of setting these goals to achieve an outcome, which was using the 5 W’s and 1 H. Who, what, when, where, why, and how.

4612821-a-simple-mind-map-with-questions-what-when-where-why-how-who-to-solve-a-problem-posted-with-colorful-stock-photo

Who am I going to follow? What am I going to post? When will I post something? Where am I going to post it? Why am I posting it? How do I want to be seen?

When I started to make a social media page for my designs and connecting to people, the first thing that I had to do was to choose which social media platform I wanted to use, so I had to look at the ‘where’ aspect of the 5W1H. I chose to post things on Instagram. I found that being a graphic design student, Instagram was the best social media platform that allowed me to showcase my work while adding a little description and being able to comment on other creators work. After I chose my platform it was then time to answer the other questions, this helped me to set goals. I want to follow other people in my field and also in other creative fields, I want to post things that I have created and also things that inspire me, I want to try and post something every week and I ave to keep in mind what time I am going to post things, I am posting things to be seen, and how I want to be seen by others is professionally but also revealing who I am as a person.

keep-calm-i-m-not-a-robot

I had no trouble figuring out all of these things that I want to do with social media because I am a very pro-social media kind of person. I think that using social media to promote yourself is a smart thing to do in todays day and age since just about everyone uses it and it is where a lot of people get discovered. It was really interesting to hear everyone else’s ways in which they are going to approach the 5W1H, especially those who aren’t so eager to use social media. It kind of astonished me the amount of people who are so against the use of social media. They don’t like it for many reasons like bullying or being a waste of time, it is really interesting how social media can effect everyone differently.

Now that I have set my goals, I need to actually do them to achieve my outcome. Using social media, especially Instagram, for my work is just one of the many ways that I can use to be seen by the world.

Bibliography
Comic One [Image] (n.d.). Retrieved December 7th, 2016, from https://au.pinterest.com/pin/258534834829319590/
Comic Two [Image] (2013). Retrieved December 7th, 2016, from http://www.discoveringidentity.com/2013/03/22/social-media-balance-or-lack-thereof/
Comic Three [Image] (2012). Retrieved December 7th, 2016, from http://tech.david-cheong.com/are-you-living-in-the-internet-infinity-loop/
Keep Calm [Image] (2014). Retrieved December 7th, 2016, from http://www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk/p/keep-calm-i-m-not-a-robot/
Social Media [Image] (n.d.). Retrieved December 7th, 2016, from http://3riversmarketinggroup.com/portfolio_page/social-media-marketing-for-tourism/
Who, What, When, Where, Why, How [Image] (n.d.). Retrieved December 7th, 2016, from http://www.123rf.com/photo_4612821_a-simple-mind-map-with-questions-what-when-where-why-how-who–to-solve-a-problem-posted-with-colorfu.html
One thought on ““Social Media & Your Career”-a reflection

Leave a Reply

