Photography assignment photos (Studio 2)

For this assignment we were asked to produce first two product shots. As I explained in my last blog post, I decided to use a tea cup that I have from T2. I love this tea cup because it has so many colours on it and I found that when taking photos and when it came to editing them, these colours really popped and the photos worked really well.

The photo above on the right is one of the many photos I took for the product shots. For submission I cropped the photo down so that there wasn’t so much empty space above the tea cup. After that I played around with the colours a bit enhancing the saturation and highlights of the main colours on the cup and that really made it pop. I chose this photo because I love the stillness of the splash that is captured and after some advice I then also blacked in the background so that there wasn’t any distracting elements in the photo.

I did a pretty similar thing for the next product shot above. Blacking in the background and enhancing the colours. Doing the same thing with the background made them seem as if they are a set of photos for this product and they both work really well together.

The next two photos for submissions were to be two portrait shots, one in colour and one black and white with our product optional. I decided to do the one in colour with my project because the cup just has so many wonderful colours on it so I didn’t want to change it to black and white.

The photo on the left again, is the original, and the one on the left is the one edited for submission. I lightened up the photo a little bit because the cup was coming across a little dark and took away a small fraction of shadows. I also blacked out the models shirt as the white kind of took away from the cup and didn’t make it as big of a focal point.

The image above is what I have chosen to submit as my black and white image. I chose this photo to change to black and white because I feel as though it gives it the right emotion and acts on what is happening with the models facial expressions.

The next part of the assignment was a conceptual/composited shot.

At first I made one but I wasn’t happy with it at all and then decided to try a few different ideas. The image with the splash I thought would look really cool if it was as though a whale was coming out of the cup and making the splash. The second one I tried is the one on the left. After I found a birds eye view of someone in the water I thought that would look pretty cool inside one of my birds eye views of the cup. I am happy with how this one turned out as well because with the jug next to it, its as if the ocean has been poured into the cup with someone inside of it.

The last part of the assignment was to submit a photo choosing a style or technique that we may like. One style of photography that I love is landscape photography. As I went on a trip down to Melbourne and we were driving, I thought that this might be a great opportunity to try and take some landscape photos using a camera with manual settings. Now, i’m no pro, but I am pretty happy with how some of them turned out.

DSC_0021DSC_0030DSC_0041DSC_0048

These are all the edited versions of the photos. I’m not too sure on which one I’m going to use to submit yet but I really like either the first one or the third one. Theres just something I love about the crashing of the waves and the colour of the sea.

Leave a Reply

