Illustration Assignment (studio 2)

For the illustration assignment which we had to produce 3 of was something that I really enjoyed. I first started with the illustration that included my object that was done for the photography project. Choosing the image with the object hanging off of string, this is what inspired my for the rest of my illustrations also. When I was looking at inspiration I really liked the look of the simple ones with defining lines and the use of one colour in the background and not really using shadows but rather using detail. With these in mind this is what I produced for my first illustration.

illustration 1 coloured

With the rest of my illustrations I wanted to keep them all really similar since this is the style that I really like doing. Keeping with the string theme I decided to do little terrariums with plants. illustration 2 coloured

With my last one I was really struggling with what I wanted to do but still wanting to keep with the strings. I wanted to experiment with using a person so I thought that using a girl holding strings would bring relation to the other illustrations too. I was really happy with how this one turned out.

illustration 3 coloured 2

Not being as happy with my second illustration I decided to go back to it and do something else. Since I really love sea animals I wanted to try and do something with that, so I chose an octopus and for the strings thought that using fishing hooks would make more sense. So this is what I chose to replace for the second illustration.

octopus illustration coloured - dark background

So these are my final 3 illustrations. I wanted them to look like they all belonged together.

Leave a Reply

