Thinking out loud (studio 2)

For this project we are to create a minimum of 6 analogue illustrations of our chosen object, which mine as a reminder was my beautiful tea set from T2. We have a range of techniques that we can chose from, from drawing it with coloured pencils, painting with acrylic or ink, making a sculpture, to creating something out of paper or even creating a screen print piece. Along with all these options that we can choose from, there are a few that we HAVE to do, which include watercolour painting, charcoal, pastels, and a mixed medium. Firstly we have been doing watercolour in class and then will be covering the others in the following classes.

As someone who hasn’t really done anything watercolour since maybe primary school, I have found it pretty difficult. We practiced a few different techniques in class but I’m still  trying to get the hang of painting an actual object with watercolour.

I decided to look up some more inspiration than the few we were shown in class, although I did like the children book like ones, I found some that I really liked the look of.

I love how they are so detailed but you can still tell that they have been created with watercolours. I would really like to try doing mine like this but considering the amount of detail there is on my object I might find this a bit hard as a beginner. I might have to go for a more abstract representation of my object, just creating the feel for the colours instead of trying to add in all of the detail, though maybe I could focus on a small section of the object to get the detail in.

The next is the charcoal and pastel drawings. I haven’t had too much experience with these either, but I do love the depth that charcoal can give to a drawing and the beautiful colours that pastels can create. I think I would really like to try and create something a little bit abstract with the pastel colours but still creating a clear representation of my object, along the lines of Pablo Picasso’s work, because he uses a lot of colour in some of them and I think that the pastels would work really well. I found these two images and thought maybe something along this style would look pretty cool.

One of the other techniques that I really want to do is oil painting. I absolutely love painting with oil paints, they blend so well together and can also create some texture in the painting. I also want to do acrylic and I would love to do a screen print because thats something I love doing, but I’m not sure I’ll have the time and money to do a screen print. Something I love about screen printing is the pop art aspect, so maybe I could create some pop art type paintings with my acrylic and oil painting.

 

Leave a Reply

